Updates XBMC and Windows 7 RC1

XBMC
XBMC

XBMC
XBMC is free and open source software media-player and entertainment hub for all your digital media, works on Linux, Mac, Windows, Xbox, XBMC Live. I started to use XBMC for my xbox after I modded it. It gave my xbox bit more life 😉 and it ran everything I threw at it, except now with todays HD content, it wont play files like 720+ mkv. Remember the xbox is an Pentium 3 with 64 MB ram. Back then the only computer I had was an old celeron with 64 MB of ram yes thats right 64 MB. I ran windows 2k on it and when I try to play videos it would usualy drop frames/sound but my xbox played it all with no problems, I really loved my XBMC (XBOX) 😉 It allowed me to enjoy some of the best animes, while while I was updating the XBMC to the latest build (8.1) I found out that it still have Aishiteru ze Baby hehe I loved that anime. Just a note current XBMC released their official newest build 9.04, (codenamed Babylon), the group that does the xbox build still hasn’t released it yet.

So if you ever need a media centre XBMC can be the solution you have been looking for, I highly recommend it!

btw I gave my xbox to my sister because she wants to watch tv series using the xbox for her tv. Since I don’t have a tv in my room and have computer, I wasn’t using my xbmc much. Glad that someone could still use it 🙂

Windows 7 RC1
If you’re interested in trying Windows 7 RC1, all you need is a hotmail account to download it here. With all the positive comments of Windows 7, I’m really looking forward to the upcoming OS. I got the beta but never had the chance to try it but with the RC out and school finish, well I still have summer school but not taking so many course. More time to play with it. First major problem I encounter with the install is with vista’s partition manager. It is just too stupid 😡 to recognize that a drive has free space or not, because if a drive have files on the end of the drive it cannot shrink the drive probably. I used partition magic for XP, I don’t know any other programs for vista 64bit, well some I try and it didn’t work or I had to paid for them 😡

GParted
GParted

I finally decided to use GParted which is a linux partition live cd, works perfectly, easy to use, gui like partition magic and its 100% free and no malware crap!

everything work off the disc but best to dl the drivers from official site because those driver will provide more features

Desktop
Desktop

the wireless bar is white? :/

another issue I had was MPC was not loading the subtitles for mkv files even with CCCP install zoomplayer had no problems.

solution:
Launch MPC > Click “View” > Click “Options” > Select “External Filters” > Click the “Add Filter” button > Select “DirectVobSub (Auto-loading version)” > Click “Ok” > On the right hand side, click the radio button for “Prefer” > Click “Ok” > Exit MPC and Restart MPC.

currently using kaspersky anti-virus 8 win7 beta (firewall kind of annoying to setup)

using ccleaner for register cleaning (it froze with first attempt)

also notice a bit of a lag when I click programs (1-2sec delay in launch)

imageshack quickshot 1.52 does not work

features

first when you first get onto the desktop you would notice the ‘show desktop’ button isn’t where it is suppose to but its very easy to find it its on the right hand side of the taskbar (right of the clock)

a feature (aerosnap) I LOVE is the auto resizing of the window. I remember working on work/assignment mostly on my 24″ I kept resizing my two windows so they both get half of the screen. Now if you drag your window to the left it will resize that window to half of the screen vice versa for right. But if you move it to the top, it will make that window full screen (takes up the whole screen)

auto resizing window
auto resizing window

Organization of the taskbar, basically now any program you can ‘pin’ on the taskbar and it will act as a quick short cut but when the program opens you can access it using the ‘pined icon’ Like it wont have another bar open for that certain program. Its great if your tight on screen resources eg working on a laptop. Also like previous vista you can stack windows on top of each other and what is new is now you can make it to only show icon and not the text of the window great if your working on a laptop 😉 aero peek – turning other windows into glass so you can see through them, aero shake minimize all windows except one

Taskbar
Taskbar

new windows short cut keys

win7 Shortcut keys
win7 Shortcut keys

I use lots of shortcut keys very useful like in vista/older windows Winlogo + E will bring up my computer window. It just takes a bit of time to get used to them and then you will always use them.

Also there is a wallpaper feature depending on the time it will use different wallpaper. So if you’re interested in windows 7 use the above link.

also a reminder:

Remember expiration dates: Please plan ahead for the Beta and RC expiration dates. To avoid interruption, you’ll need to rebuild your test machine using a valid version of Windows before the software expires. Windows will notify you that the expiration process is beginning and two weeks later your PC will begin shutting down every two hours. The Beta expires on August 1, 2009, and bi-hourly shutdowns will begin July 1, 2009. The RC will expire June 1, 2010, and the bi-hourly shutdowns will begin on March 1, 2010. In both cases, you’ll need to rebuild your test PC to replace the OS and reinstall all your programs and data.

2 thoughts on “Updates XBMC and Windows 7 RC1

  1. Austin auto Glass Repair April 9, 2013 / 7:01 am

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This piece
    of writing posted at this site is genuinely fastidious.

  2. manta.com April 11, 2013 / 1:45 am

    I really like it when people come together and share opinions.
    Great blog, continue the good work!

Leave a Reply

